Rock and Roll Dreams Come Through

Okay, so you may have figured out that I quote ↑this↑ song a lot. And when my first agent left agenting earlier this year, I stuck the title at the end of my Twitter profile… not really for anyone else, but as a reminder to myself that this book WAS going to get out there. That somehow, someway, my odd little rock and roll dream was going to find someone else to love it, to champion it, to get it out to publishers. To YOU, the reader. To the world!

…but that didn’t happen. At least not at first. I started querying again, little by little. I got requests, but I kept searching—for new agents, for #MSWL tweets, for hints that would tell me where to go next.

And then, a couple of months into the process, I got an offer. The agent is an amazingly sweet person, with clients who had nothing but praise to give…but it wasn’t a good fit. I knew it. It hurt, but I turned it down, and kept looking.

And looking.

And looking.

I got rejections… one so sweet it made me want to smile and cry at the same time. A lot that were some variation of “This is great, but not for me.”

I sent out more queries. I got more requests. Because this is querying, I got form letters and radio silence too. After awhile, it started to feel like none of it was a big deal. Querying became kind of a second job. I just had to do it. I had to get this book out into the world.

And then, some kind person among my Twitter followers (I’m horrible, I don’t even remember who it was! But thank you, kind person!) retweeted an announcement from a new agent who had JUST opened to queries something like 24 hours before. I checked out the agent. Seemed like a cool person. Seemed a like a good fit. Repped all the categories and genres I can envision myself ever writing in AND had a wish list including some of my favorite authors. So I queried.

And I got a partial request.

And then the partial turned into a full!

And then I waited. Of course, because this is querying. (But honestly, the wait wasn’t TOO long.)

And then I got an email.

It was 8AM in Japan and I got it on my phone, and I was SURE it was going to be a rejection because, well, statistically speaking that was just more likely, right? And this was my second time in the trenches. Gone were the days of “OMG I GOT A REPLY FROM MY FULL!”

I opened it, expecting another variation on “Not for me.”

Oh, but wait.

The agent apparently LOVED my book. Enough to ctrl+b it. And here I thought I was the only one who ctrl+b’d emails. I was starting to get a good feeling about this.

The agent wanted to talk. Talk we did. (Kind of… I couldn’t get my video to work, because old computer is old, or maybe I’m just not very computer savvy? So… it was a text chat “Call.” But that was totally cool.) I liked what I heard (erm, read). My gut was screaming YES.

So (after taking the appropriate amount of time to think it over, take care of outstanding queries, and weigh my options… choose your agent responsibly, kiddos!) YES is what I said. And I’m thrilled to announce that I am now partners in crime with… erm, I mean represented by… Eric Smith at P.S. Literary!

We are going to bring you guys some awesome books.

Because rock and roll dreams really do come through.

One thought on “Rock and Roll Dreams Come Through

Leave a Reply

